top of page

Who Are We pt. 3

It is the beginning of a new month.....That means another blog post! In Who Are We Pt. 2, we introduced our organization and community services staff. The month of October serves to bring awareness to domestic violence so we would like to introduce our residential staff who work with

victim/survivors at our emergency shelter. These staff members work around the clock to provide services including emergency shelter, case management, counseling, advocacy, assistance with basic needs and all around love and support to all victims seeking refuge from abuse. We asked each of them to share a few fun facts about themselves and their favorite way to drink coffee!




First up we have, Tabranecia, our Residential Director! “Hi! I am Tabranecia Patterson, the Residential Program Director for SafeHouse. I graduated from the University of Alabama in December 2018 with my Bachelors in Criminal Justice and a double minor in Communication Studies and Computing Tech & Applications. Further, I graduated in December 2021 with my Masters in Criminal Justice. Overseeing the residential shelter, I am extremely zealous in providing direct services and support to domestic violence and sexual assault survivors. One day at a time, one smile a day keeps me going!

Personally, I have a labradoodle (Remi Jo) and a standard poodle (Roi James), the two best pups a girl could ask for. I love traveling, crafting, shopping, being one with nature, and spending time with my family.

I love my coffee sweet! Iced white mocha with sweet cream foam and extra caramel drizzle!


Next we have Tabatha! "My name is Tabatha Hunt, and I am the Lead Advocate at SafeHouse. I assist the Shelter Operations Coordinator to ensure things at the shelter run smoothly. I also have a lot of personal interactions with our shelter clients. Whether it is getting them items they need on a daily basis, providing them with transportation to appointments, or just someone to talk to for a few minutes. I am a DV Survivor myself, so that is where my passion comes for this career. I know what these women have been/are going through, and I want to be here to support them and help them heal and come out on the other side of their situations as stronger individuals.

In my personal life, I am a mom to a very active 11-year-old son! He is my world and keeps me busy, but I wouldn't have it any other way. On any given day, you will most likely find us in one of two places, church, or at a field/court practicing or playing some sport. He plays football and travel basketball.

My favorite coffee is anything iced or frozen with caramel and/or vanilla."



Following Tabatha, we have Kimberly! “My name is Kimberly Jones and I'm the Residential Case Manager Coordinator. I have a Bachelor's Degree in Social Work and a Masters in Psychology. As a case manager we partner with community resources, facilitate life skill groups, assist clients with creating individualized goals, and assist with creating housing plans. My passion is helping others reach their goals through self-discovery, resilience, and building a positive self-image.

Personally, I like to travel, socialize with family/friends, and participate in activities within the community.

I’m not a coffee drinker, but I do love green tea hot or cold.



Next we would like to introduce Madison! “My name is Madison Harris, I am a Residential Case Manager. I graduated from The University of Montevallo this past May with my Bachelor's in Social Work and a minor in Human Development and Family Studies. In my position, I assist clients living in the emergency shelter by providing needed resources through weekly case management.

I love listening to podcasts, cooking, and playing with my cat, Pumkin-Fluff.


My go-to coffee is a hot white mocha with oat milk and sea salt caramel.



Next is Vatisha! “My name is Vatisha S. Bates. I am a Weekend Shelter Advocate. I have my Bachelors of Science in Health Information Management with a minor in Health Sciences from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. I am a pursuing my Masters in Clinical Mental Health Counseling at the University of West Alabama. I am also an Intern at the Jimmie Hale Mission and Jessie’s Place. In my position, I provide direct services to victims of domestic violence and sexual abuse. I answer crisis calls, provide crisis intervention, and safety planning advocacy. I conduct intakes and provide referrals when necessary. I coordinate activities with other staff and assist with everyday life skills.

Personally, I am a mom of two wonderful teenagers. I love music, nature, and spending time with family and friends.

I am not really a coffee person but I love peppermint tea!”



Next up to introduce herself is Donna Bush,” My name is Donna Bush, I am a full time shelter advocate. Being an advocate is so important to me. I am the voice for the ones that are afraid to speak. I am the listening ear and the shoulder to lean on for the clients.

My personal life consists of me being a wife, mother and Nana to my handsome grandsons. In my leisure time I enjoy being with family, watching sports, and singing.

My favorite coffee is a caramel Frappuccino with extra whipped cream from Starbucks!



Next, we have Ephionny who shares, “My name is Ephionny Morton-Odenigbo. I am a Shelter Advocate at SafeHouse of Shelby County. I have educational background in music, psychology, and healthcare. The last four years I worked as a Direct Support Professional for children with autism. It is my passion to help people in need. I am currently in the process of starting a nonprofit for mental health support. My goal is to always be a servant leader.

I am a wife and a mom to 2 amazing little boys. I love to sing, swim, travel, write music, write poetry, laugh and spend time with my family and friends.

I don't drink coffee too often, but when I do, I usually go for a caramel Frappuccino.




Up next is Tandrea! “Hello everyone! My name is Tandrea Callier (Tan for short). I’ve been a Shelter Advocate for 4 months! Before coming to SafeHouse, I was a Preschool Teacher and I loved it. I currently attend UAB, majoring in Community Health with a minor in Social Psychology. After graduating, I would like to become a Substance Abuse Counselor and own a homeless shelter.

In my spare time, I love to shop at Bath and Body Works, exploring different walking trails, decorating, crafting, and journaling by water. Above all, I love spending those moments with family, friends, and my puppy.

Last, but not least, my favorite coffee order is an Iced White Chocolate Mocha.



If you or anyone you know is experiencing domestic violence or sexual assault, please call our 24/7 Crisis line (205) 669-7233 (SAFE).


One of these friendly faces will be on the other end of the phone to assist you in getting the help you need. We hope by introducing our staff you will get to better know the heart of the organization and know friendly faces await should you or a loved one need to seek refuse at our shelter.


Together, we believe we can change lives, build hope, and end violence.

55 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page